Your Missouri driver’s license is a precious thing. To keep it in good standing and stay out of trouble, you have to maintain an acceptable Missouri driving record and keep your eye on your Missouri Driver’s License Points. What determines a good driving record? The Missouri Points System. Understanding this system will help you save money, time and hassle by keeping your driving record clean.
What’s the Big Deal About Missouri Driver’s License Points?
If you end up with too many Missouri driver’s license points on your license, you may have to pay higher insurance rates and possibly be kept from getting a job. Worse still, enough points will get your driver’s license suspended and also cause you to get expensive SR-22 insurance. Driver’s license points can accumulate with each speeding ticket or other traffic tickets you get.
Kansas City Traffic Lawyer
"Don't let speeding ticket points ruin your insurance. I will help you keep them off your record."
Now for a Free Review of Your Situation
How Many Points Is a Speeding Ticket?
How many points is a speeding ticket in Mo.? It varies depending on who issues the ticket. If it is a city ticket, it adds 2 points. If a Highway Patrol or a Missouri Circuit Court cites you for speeding, you get 3 points instead. Other factors may increase the number of points. For instance, if you were driving without insurance or proof of financial responsibility, you lose 4 points. If the traffic violation involves an accident, you can lose 2 additional points.
Missouri Driver’s License Points for Speeding:
- City Ticket - 2 Points
- Highway Patrol/Missouri Circuit Court Ticket - 3 Points
- If it Includes Driving Without Insurance/Proof of Financial Responsibility or Other Factors - 4 Points
- It Involves an Accident - 2 Additional Points (Possible)
How Do Missouri Speeding Ticket Points Affect My Record?
If you have too many points, you lose your license for a specified time. With 8 points in 18 months, your license is suspended for 30 days. The second time this happens, you lose it for 60 days, and the third time, you lose it for 90 days. Your license is revoked for a year if you rack up 12 points in 12 months, 18 points in 24 months, or 24 points in 36 months. In addition to the license suspension, you will have to obtain high-risk insurance such as SR-22.
Missouri Drivers License Points Penalties:
- 8 points in 18 months: 30 Day Suspension
- 8 points in 18 months 2 times: 60 Day Suspension
- 8 points in 18 months 3 times: 90 Day Suspension
- 12 points in 12 months: DL SUSPENSION
- 18 points in 24 months: DL SUSPENSION
- 24 points in 36 months: DL SUSPENSION
How to Check Your Missouri Driving Record and Driver’s License Points
After you get a speeding ticket, you might ask “How many points are on my license now?” There’s a simple way to find out. You can call the state’s interactive voice system at (573) 526-2407. You can order a copy of your driving record by going online to the DMV website and filling out a form. You might be able to get it at your local DMV in Kansas City. Alternately, you can talk to a traffic ticket lawyer to get information on how many Missouri driver’s license points are on your record.
Check Your Points
- Call the Missouri Driver License Contact number (573) 526-2407
- Visit the DMV website
How Long Do Points Stay on Your Missouri Driving Record?
Missouri drivers license points stay on the record for three years. Obviously the best option would be for no points to go on your record at all. If you go for one year without any new points, the points on your license drop by one-third. After two years without any new points, the points drop by one-half. If you can go three years without any additional points, your points will drop to zero.
Missouri Drivers License Points Expire:
- One Year Clean, Points Drop by One-third
- Two Years Clean, the Points Drop by One-half
- Three Years Clean, Your Points Will Drop to Zero
There are ways to avoid getting points on your license. A traffic attorney can help you keep the speeding off of your record by negotiating with the Prosecutor. They may do this by having the ticket reduced to a non-moving violation. With the right help, you can keep your record in good standing to preserve your ability to drive, work, and carry on your normal daily activities.