Read About Failing to Show Proof of Insurance in Kansas City
When you own a car in Kansas City, Missouri, you are required to carry a certain amount of liability coverage. There are penalties if you do not carry the minimum amount of insurance. To be sure, some drivers can face a driver’s license suspension if they fail to provide proof of insurance to a law enforcement official. The following are some key things to know about Kansas City driver responsibilities when it comes to liability insurance, and penalties drivers can face for failing to show proof of coverage.
Missouri Law Requires Every Driver to Have Liability Coverage
Missouri law requires drivers to carry a minimum of $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person for each accident, $50,000 for all persons in a single accident, and $10,000 in property damage liability coverage. You are required to carry this insurance in case you are in an accident and, ultimately, in the event you cause another person on foot or in a motor vehicle to suffer serious injuries in the crash.
Yet even if you have never been involved in a crash, you still need to carry liability insurance at all times, and you need to have proof that you have the coverage. Indeed, as the Missouri Department of Revenue explains, “it is illegal to drive a motor vehicle in Missouri without automobile liability insurance,” and a “vehicle driver must show proof of insurance to any law enforcement official, upon request, or a traffic ticket will be issued to the driver.”
Once you receive a traffic ticket for failing to show proof of insurance, you can still face additional consequences.
Kansas City Missouri Court Can Take One of Three Actions for Failure to Show Proof of Insurance
If you are issued a ticket for failing to show proof of insurance, the Missouri Department of Revenue can take one of the following three actions:
Court can send the conviction to the Department of Revenue, and you will have the conviction entered onto your driving record, which will result in four points being assessed against your driving record;
Court can enter an order of supervision and send it to the Department of Revenue ; or
Court can enter an order suspending the driver’s driving privileges, and that order will be sent to the Department of Revenue.
If your driving privileges are suspended, you will need to provide proof of insurance and pay a reinstatement fee in order to have your privileges reinstated. The amount of the reinstatement fee depends upon whether you have any previous suspensions on your record, and it can range from $20 to $400. If your driving privileges are suspended for failing to show proof of insurance coverage, you will also be required to file proof of insurance with the Missouri Department of Revenue for three years after your suspension.