Offering Advice to Get Your Driver’s License Back
If you are convicted of more than one alcohol-related offense in Kansas City, Missouri, you could ultimately be at risk of having a 10-year license denial for an extended period of time. In most cases, too many alcohol-related or drug-related offenses within a particular period of time can lead to a five-year driver’s license suspension or a 10-year driver’s license suspension. When you are facing a denial or need assistance with a reinstatement petition, a traffic defense lawyer in Kansas City is here to help.
How Driver’s License Suspensions and Denials Work in Kansas City, MO
Upon a first conviction of a DWI in Kansas City, Missouri law says that you will face a 90-day driver’s license suspension, and you can also face additional criminal penalties. If you are convicted of a second traffic offense that is an intoxication-related offense—meaning it is a conviction from alcohol or drug use in connection with driving—you will likely face a one-year revocation of your driver’s license, regardless of the amount of time that passes between the first and second offense.
Three or more intoxicated-related convictions mean you will receive a 10-year license denial.
Once you are convicted of subsequent alcohol-related or drug-related offenses within a relatively short period of time, you will likely face either a five-year or 10-year suspension of your driver’s license. Once you have a five-year or 10-year denial, you will actually have to file a claim in court in order to have your license reinstated. Petitioning the court to have your license reinstated after a 10-year denial can be stressful and complicated. An experienced Kansas City traffic defense lawyer can help you from the start to finish of the petition process. In the meantime, we want to give you additional information about the 10-year license denial in Kansas City, Missouri.
Understanding the 10-Year License Denial
When can a driver receive a 10-year denial in Kansas City, MO? If you are convicted of three or more intoxicated-related offenses, you will receive a 10-year license denial. Unlike a five-year license denial, which occurs after a driver is convicted of two intoxicated-related offenses within a five-year period, three or more offenses will trigger a 10-year denial regardless of the amount of time between offenses. What to do you need to do in order to have your driver’s license reinstated after the 10-year license denial? It will require the following steps:
Serve the 10-year period;
Register for a criminal history check;
Pass the criminal history check;
File proof that you have installed the appropriate Ignition Interlock Device (IID), which must be equipped with a camera; and
File a petition with the court in the county where your last intoxication-related conviction occurred in order to have your license reinstated.
Contact a Traffic Defense Attorney in Kansas City
When you need assistance with a petition to have your driver’s license reinstated, it is extremely important to have a Kansas City traffic defense lawyer on your side. Our firm routinely assists clients with petitions for reinstatement, and we have years of experience representing clients in traffic and DWI cases before the court. You should not have to face the anxiety-inducing process of petitioning for your driver’s license reinstatement without the help of an experienced attorney. Contact Aimee the Attorney to learn more about the services we provide in Kansas City.