Getting a Missouri speeding ticket can be a stressful and costly experience. If you have gotten one in Missouri, you have likely already realized that the system can seem a bit complicated. Luckily, it is not so daunting once you understand it, and we are here to answer all your questions. We have compiled answers to the questions we hear most about tickets from Missouri drivers. If you have a question that is not answered here, or would like advice about your specific situation, schedule a free consultation with an experienced Kansas City Speeding Ticket Attorney.
How Much will a Traffic Ticket Cost Me?
The cost of a Missouri ticket will vary based on how fast you were going over the speed limit, as well as any compounding circumstances, for instance, if you were driving in a school or construction zone. According to the Missouri State Fine Collection Center, which is updated every year, 2020 fines start at $85 for violations one to five mph over the speed limit, and increase to $224 for violations 20 to 25 mph over the speed limit. These fines are further compounded if the violation occurred in a school or construction zone, or if other aggrieving circumstances are present.
Can I Go to Jail for a Missouri Speeding Ticket?
There are two types of speeding laws in Missouri — “basic speeding law” and “absolute limits.” The basic speeding law uses a subjective standard to determine what a safe speed is, which may vary from the posted speed limit. For instance, a driver may have been driving 50 in a 50 mph zone, but if it was raining heavily or sleeting that speed would no longer be safe. On the other hand, absolute limits are the posted speed limits you see on the side of the road.
A violation of basic speeding law may appear as a Class B Misdemeanor, carrying up to six months in jail and a maximum $1,000 fine. A violation of absolute limits may appear as a Class C Misdemeanor, carrying up to 15 days in jail and a maximum of $750 in fines. However, if the driver exceeded the absolute limit by less than five miles, it will only be an infraction.
If you are facing a potential misdemeanor, it is important to consult with an experienced Kansas City Traffic Ticket Attorney to avoid or minimize possible fines and jail time.
How Does the Points System Work?
In Missouri Drivers License Points, traffic violations result in three points added to your driving record for state violations and two points for municipal violations. Tickets written by Kansas City Police are two points in the Missouri Driving Record and an infraction on the Kansas City Record.
When you accumulate eight or more points in 18 months, your license will be suspended for 30 days. A second suspension will last 60 days and a third suspension will last 90 days. If you accumulate 12+ points in 12 months, 18+ points in 24 months, or 24+ points in 36 months, you will lose your license for a year.
Should I Talk to a Lawyer?
Yes, if you have received a speeding ticket in Missouri, contact Aimee the Attorney, your Kansas City Traffic Ticket Lawyer. If you have received a speeding ticket in Missouri, contact Aimee the Attorney, your Kansas City Traffic Ticket Lawyer, for a free consultation. Aimee Gromowsky is a former Assistant Prosecuting Attorney for Jackson County. She has over 19 years of experience in Kansas and Missouri courts and handles thousands of cases in the Kansas City, Missouri area every year. In many cases, speeding violations can be reduced to non-moving violations that leave no points or mark on your record. If anyone can wipe your record clean, it is her! Contact her today.